We Really Love Games! – GamesMaster Magazine Issue 208

GM_logo

WE REALLY LOVE GAMES

YOU THOUGHT YOU LOVED GAMES? THESE FOLKS HAVE TAKEN IT ALL TOO FAR!

This month, Janis Stevenson’s lovingly crafted DS Gameboy pouches! Check them out at http://tinyurl.com/67clur.

GM: A Gameboy within a Gameboy. Genius! How did you come up with the idea?

I was brainstorming new pouch ideas and it just popped into my head. I started with the original and a customer gave me the idea for the colour.  The original is my personal favourite; I like that it could be mistaken for a real Gameboy!

GM: How long do these pouches take to make? Is it awkward?

Each pouch takes about an hour and a half total. Now that I’ve made around 300 pouches, the process is pretty streamlined and comes second nature to me. The hand sewing takes the most time and effort. Needle pricks and sore fingers are part of the job.

GM: Any other gaming goodness in your head? What are the plans for the next project?

The Wiimote is always in my head, but I haven’t worked that one out yet. I’d like to make a pouch for DS accessories and game cartridges. Maybe a Wiimote shaped cartridge case or a pouch that looks like the Gameboy advance could be next.

GM: Is pocket gaming your only passion?

I’m always finding something different to make. I love Halloween. Costumes, decorations, candy. It gets me in a lot of trouble! I always have time for Zelda, it seems like I’m always waiting for a new Zelda game to come out. They don’t make them fast enough.

GM: Finally, what are you up to at the moment?

I’m sewing everyday! Pouches aside, I am trying to finish a Megaman quilt that I started in February. It gets pushed to the back burner when I get swamped with orders, but I hope to have it done soon. I just beat Fable 2, I’m still working on the achievements, though.

GM: Thanks, Janis!

gbpouch1CAPTION: Hard working Janis makes them all the colours of the rainbow.

gbpouch2CAPTION: Gameboys through the ages. Which one would you rather play, though?

janisCAPTION: Janis, proving the best way to rest sewing pains is to play on your Gameboy!

REALLY LOVE GAMES?

Send us your pics to You Thought You Loved Games? GamesMaster, Future Publishing Ltd, 30 Monmouth St, Bath, BA1 2BW and you could be featured in the pages of GM!

Leave a Reply

